Friday, 1 February 2019

Path to Platform Dev II

For almost last three years I was scheduling and canceling this certification exam. There was no major reason behind it. It was just my fear to fail. In this due course of time, the exam pattern got changed (I will come to it later). Finally, in 2018, I made mind and I did not only schedule it but cleared the certification
In all these years, one thing I did not give up and that was reading salesforce related material. Be it articles, books, blogs, I read whatever came in front of me. I did not stop there. I used to take notes and paste a copy of that article beside that notes for future reference. For better understanding, I tried to implement that knowledge in real world. It really helped me not only to understand what I was reading but cleared most of my doubts that I was facing in my work. So, do not forget to read in spare time.
Now, let’s talk about the exam pattern. It contains two major sections as follows:
  • Proctored multiple-choice exam (60 multiple choice question with 120 minutes.)
  • 4 Trailhead superbadges.
You can go for either one first. I first cleared multiple choice exam and then I completed all my superbadges.

Multiple Choice Exam

For multiple choice exam, I went through each and every topic mentioned in the Salesforce exam guide. I also referred the articles from Salesforce training material. When you read these articles, Salesforce gives you more suggestions related to that topic. So, I would recommend you follow those suggestions. It worked for me and I am sure it would do for you too.
Some of the key points I would like to mention while preparing for the exam:
  • Apex Performance
  • Continuations
  • SOSL query
  • Future methods use cases
  • Callouts and limitations
  • Batch Job
  • Programmatic Sharing
  • Webservice
  • Heroku Connect
  • ActionFunction
  • Actionpollar
  • Transactions
  • External Objects
  • QueryMore
You must know Apex, Visualforce functionality thoroughly. For that, you need to have few years of hands on experience in Salesforce. REMEMBER… These are just key points that I could recollect at this point.


The 4 badges are as follows:
  • Apex Specialist
  • Data Integration Specialist
  • Lightning Component Framework Specialist
  • Advanced Apex Specialist.
I would recommend completing these badges with 100% honesty. You will learn a lot from them.
Keep learning. Keep yourself updated with salesforce’s new features. Take all your time, go easy and keep learning.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Why to use Database.Stateful()?

Database Stateful is interface. It is used in batch classes to maintain the state of the class across transactions i.e. if you want to use ...